The Zawinul Foundation offers the following awards:

The “Z” Award

Each year, this award is given to one music student from Austria and one music student from the United States for demonstrating exceptional musical talent and passion.  Each “Z” Award winner gets to participate in our annul international music exchange program.  The Austrian winner gets to visit Los Angeles for two weeks to take personalized music courses and visit historical and cultural sites.  The American winner gets to do the same in Vienna.  Both trips are fully paid for by the Foundation; airfare, housing, meals, music courses and recreational trips.  The “Z” Award is presented to the winners at the “Z” Award ceremony in Vienna.  Additionally, the winner must be no older than 20 years old by May 12, 2018.

The Spirit Award

Every two years, the Zawinul Foundation for Achievement bestows the Spirit Award to an Austrian student who exhibits an unparalleled passion for music and who has overcome challenges in life.  The award honors the student’s ability to successfully cope with difficulties while also furthering his/her music education and talents.

The Spirit Award winner will be selected from 2018 Joe Zawinul Music Exchange Program applicants who also have applied for the program in previous years. Additionally, the winner must be no older than 20 years old by May 12, 2018.

Most Improved

New this year, the Zawinul Foundation for Achievement presents the ZFFA Most-Improved Award. This honor recognizes a student who has shown tremendous growth in his/her musicianship—not only in theoretical knowledge of his/her instrument, but also in the acquisition of new skills—the exemplary work ethic required to continue learning the craft, and a willingness to step outside your comfort zone to push yourself as a performer.

To be considered for the ZFFA Most-Improved Award, students must have previously applied to the Joe Zawinul Music Exchange Program and apply again for the 2018 program. Additionally, the winner must be no older than 20 years old by May 12, 2018.

The winner will be chosen by university-level educators who will compare both this year’s video submission and previous video applications.

The Creative Video Award

The Zawinul Foundation for Achievement announces the ZFFA Creative Video Award to recognize and encourage young filmmakers. Whether captured by a smartphone or the latest technology– now more than ever– young artists have an opportunity to tell their stories through video.  This year, the Zawinul Foundation welcomes students to submit a short video about their hometowns; show us how you view your community.  The ZFFA Creative Video Award winner receives a one-year subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud All Applications for students.